Muscliff Park Open Triples

Muscliff Park Petanque Club hosted its first open triples tournament on Saturday 24th March 2018. Although disappointed by the overall number of entries the competitors had a good day of highly competitive Petanque. Twelve teams took part representing six different clubs.

In group A the local team LPC (Leo Black, Paul Hayes & Chris Chubb) recovered from a poor start losing to the Celtic Tigers (Malcolm McKenzie, Dave Lucas & Dave Kilshaw) 13-4, to beat Salmons Leap (Ryan, Adam & Steve) and Flights Harriers both 13-2 to top the group with +13 points one ahead of the Tigers on +12. Salmons Leap took third place.

The B Group was won by the Mafia (Tony Giordano, Victorio Francesconi, John Denis) who were unbeaten. Red White & Bleu (Steve White, Roger Haynes and JP Elena) were runners up with one win and +1 points, leaving Seaview (Roger Deas, Firooz and Perry Ellis) joint third with the Suet Puds (Jennie Pudney, Sue Godwin & Kelvin Randall).

Top Coaches (Mario Annichairicco, John Sedgewick & Roger Derrick) won group C with 2 wins and +14 points, MPH (Mick & Pat Roberts, Hilary Annichairicco, Annette Black) took second place with 2 wins +6; Significantly Muscliff Marauders (Ed Walker, Peter Aldersey & Clifton Gonsolves) were third and sneaked into the afternoons Gold event with one win, -6, ahead of the Rotarians (Steve Maidment, Richard Taylor & Graham Green) on -14.

The knock out phase saw LPC cruise into the final with 13-3 wins over MPH and Red, White and Bleu. Muscliff Marauders, after struggling in the morning showed great quality in beating the Mafia and the Celtic Tigers to set up an all Muscliff final. LPC started well and took a 10-6 lead but then a moved jack and superb pointing from Clifton Golsolves and Peter Aldersey saw them take five and in the next end deservedly win the match and the winner’s cheque.

The Gold Consolage was won by MPH with a 13-7 victory over Top Coaches and the Silver competition went to the Rotarians beating Seaview in the final.
Malcolm Mckenzie won the shoot the egg competition beating Tony Giordano in the final.

Chris Chubb

Pictured below, winners Clifton Gonsolves; Peter Aldersey & Ed Walker receive their cheque from Club President Hilary Annicchiarico