SCPA Summer Doubles 2019

There were 20 teams entered for this year’s SCPA Summer Doubles. After playing five rounds of three games through the summer, the following eight teams qualified for the final:

1 David Franco Cruz (Cobbetts) Marc Franco Llado (Cobbetts) 14 wins +127
2 Dave Stubbs (Cobbetts) Richard Greeves (Cobbetts) 13 wins +72
3 Karen Lombard (River Hamble) Callum Lombard (River Hamble) 11 wins +41
4 Hassi Leverett (Fareham) Mark Robertshaw (Fareham) 11 wins +24
5 Dave Lucas (Ship) Sam Thatcher (River Hamble) 10 wins +56
6 Lee Redfern (Cobbetts) Diane Redfern (Cobbetts) 10 wins +26
7 Alison Stubbs (Cobbetts) Mike Porter (Cobbetts) 8 wins +38
8 Bill Mackrell (Handcross) John Bailey (Handcross) 7 wins -8

Those that didn’t qualify included:

9. Steve Brickell & Paul Leverett (Cobbetts) 7 wins -13
10. Lyn Porter & Pete Tomlin  (Cobbetts) 7 wins -27
11. Paul Hayward & Sheila Hayward (Fareham) 6 wins
12. Clifton Gonzales & Chris Chubb (Muscliff) 5 wins -34
13. Rod Bennett & Bernie Miles (Cobbetts) 5 wins -50
14. Mark Duncan & Will Read (River Hamble) 5 wins -55
15. Sue Sandy & Frankie Bennett  (Cobbetts) 3 wins
16. Nick Hall & Trudy Bishop (Portchester) 2 wins

(Three teams did not return their score sheets and one team withdrew.)

Summer Doubles Final

The final took place at Burridge on Saturday, October 26th, in far from summery conditions with heavy rain and strong winds throughout the day making things very unpleasant and challenging! The start of play had been delayed until 11am to give players a chance to watch the England rugby team against New Zealand in the World Cup Semi-Final. What a match it was and what a result!

The late start meant only two round in the morning before Lyn’s excellent lunchtime food. After the final round of the league stages, Dave Lucas and Sam Thatcher had won all their games to top League 1 with Dave Stubbs and Richard Greeves in 2nd place. The defending champions Mike Porter and Ali Stubbs were also in this league but narrow defeats to 11 and 12 put paid to their chances of retaining the title. The other league was won by David Franco Cruz and Marc Franco Llado also with 3 wins ahead of Karen and Callum Lombard.

The knocks-outs saw David and Mark beat Dave and Richard 13-7 while Callum and Karen were victors by the narrowest of margins 13-12 against Sam and Dave.  In the final David and Mark ran out comfortable 13-4 winners against Karen and Callum to deservedly win the title. They lost just one game out of twenty over the summer and the finals (well done Lyn Porter and Pete Tomlin!).

Final results:

Winners David Franco-Cruz (Cobbetts) Marc Franco Llado (Cobbetts)
Runners-up Karen Lombard (River Hamble) Callum Lombard (River Hamble)
3rd Dave Lucas (Ship) Sam Thatcher (River Hamble)
4th Dave Stubbs (Cobbetts) Richard Greeves (Cobbetts)
5th Mark Robertshaw (Fareham) Hassi Leverett (Fareham/Cobbetts)
6th Lee Redfern (Cobbetts) Diane Redfern (Cobbetts)
7th Alison Stubbs (Cobbetts) Mike Porter (Cobbetts)
8th Bill Mackrell (Handcross) John Bailey (Handcross)
Dave Stubbs